Sommernachtskonzert 2019 / Summer Night Concert 2019 BLU-RAY

by Gustavo Dudamel & Wierner Philiharmoniker

Gustavo Dudamel & Wiener Philharmoniker // Sommernachtskonzert 2019  / Summer Night Concert 2019 BLU-RAY

Release Date: Friday 26th July, 2019 

On Thursday, 20 June 2019, the annual Summer Night Concert Schönbrunn of the Vienna Philharmonic takes place in the unique ambience of the Schönbrunn Palace Park. Gustavo Dudamel conducts this open-air concert for the second time after 2012, the evening's soloist is the Beijing-born pianist Yuja Wang.

The focus of the Summer Night Concert 2019 is the music history of the United States of America. The works that were performed this year were written in or for America, but also build bridges to the Viennese musical tradition


1. Leonard Bernstein

Candide: Overture Allegro molto con brio

2. Johann Strauss II

Jubilee Waltz*

3. George Gershwin

Rhapsody in Blue

Orchestration: Ferde Grofé

4. Max Steiner

Casablanca – Suite*

Music from the Michael Curtiz Film

5. John Philip Sousa

Stars and Stripes Forever

6. Samuel Barber

Adagio for Strings from String Quartet op. 11

7. Carl Michael Ziehrer

Sternenbanner-Marsch op. 460

The Star-Spangled Banner March

8. Antonín Dvořák

Symphony No. 9 in E minor “From the New World” op. 95



9. Aaron Copland Hoe–Down from Rodeo

10. Johann Strauß, Jr. Wiener Blut (Vienna Blood), Waltz, op. 354

* First performance at a concert of the Wiener Philharmoniker