by Primal Scream

Over the past three and a half decades, Primal Scream have embraced everything from psychedelic pop to degenerate rock’n’roll; euphoric rave to industrial gloom. They have made records with George Clinton and Kate Moss, invited Mani of the Stone Roses and Kevin Shields of My Bloody Valentine into the fold, survived narcotic oblivion, personal trauma and the death of beloved guitarist Robert “Throb” Young, and captured the mood of the nation several times over. Throughout it all, they have always sounded likePrimal Scream. And they have always made great singles. 



Opening with the jangly melodic rush of ‘Velocity Girl’, ‘Maximum Rock ‘N’ Roll: The Singles’ is a celebration of a vital catalogue of songs from a band who have always pushed the boundaries of their sound. There’s rock ‘n’ roll infused with gospel and soul in ‘Movin’ On Up’, the Stonesy strut of ‘Rocks’ and industrial-funk in the shape of‘Kill All Hippies’. And that freewheeling attitude never stopped, as evidenced by the anthemic garage-rock meets vintage R&B of ‘Country Girl’ and the creativity of the songs taken from their most recent album, 2016’s ‘Chaosmosis’.


Disc 1


1.       Velocity Girl


2.       Gentle Tuesday


3.       Imperial


4.       Ivy Ivy Ivy


5.       Loaded


6.       Come Together


7.       Higher Than the Sun (The Orb Mix) [Remastered]


8.       Don't Fight It, Feel It (7" Edit) [Remastered]


9.       Movin' on Up


10.   Rocks


11.   Jailbird


12.   (I'm Gonna) Cry Myself Blind


13.   Kowalski


14.   Star


15.   Burning Wheel


16.   Swastika Eyes


17.   Kill All Hippies (Brendan Lynch Edit) [Remastered]





Disc 2



1.       Accelerator


2.       Miss Lucifer


3.       Autobahn 66


4.       Some Velvet Morning


5.       Country Girl


6.       Dolls (Sweet Rock and Roll)


7.       Sometimes I Feel So Lonely


8.       Can't Go Back


9.       Uptown


10.   2013


11.   It's Alright, It's OK


12.   Goodbye Johnny


13.   Where the Light Gets In


14.   100% or Nothing