Winter's Gate (LP+CD)

by Insomnium
Sold out

Finnish melodic deathsters Insomnium have been forging a very special release during the last months. 'Winter's Gate' is a concept album that is made of one epic 40 minute song.

The album is built around a short story "Winter's Gate" ("Talven portti" in Finnish) by vocalist & bassist Niilo Sevänen, which won awards and nominations in Finland back in 2007 and 2008. It's a story about a group of Vikings who set out to find a fabled island west from Ireland, even though the winter is drawing near.
Inspired by bands such as their legendary countrymen Amorphis and Sentenced, early Paradise Lost or Swedish genre pioneers à la In Flames, Dark Tranquillity, At The Gates or Opeth, 17-year-old Sevänen buried his grunge band and asked his metalhead schoolmates Ville Friman and Markus Hirvonen if they wanted to form a metal band with him. From that point, the only direction for Insomnium was up: album by album – from their 2002 debut 'In the Halls Of Awaiting' via 'Since The Day It All Came Down' (2004), 'Above The Weeping World' (2006) and 'Across The Dark' (2009) through to their Century Media debut 'One for Sorrow' (2011) – also introducing Markus Vanhala as the new fourth member.


1. Winters Gate Part 1
2. Winters Gate Part 2
3. Winters Gate Part 3
4. Winters Gate Part 4
5. Winters Gate Part 5
6. Winters Gate Part 6
7. Winters Gate Part 7