Rattle That Lock (Vinyl)

by David Gilmour

Off the back of the global success of the November 2014 release of Pink Floyd’s The Endless River, the voice & guitar of Pink Floyd, David Gilmour returns with his fourth solo album ‘Rattle That Lock’, which follows David’s 2006 UK No.1 album ON AN ISLAND.  Pressed on heavyweight vinyl and packaged in a gatefold sleeve with photo inner bags, plus a full size 16-page photo/lyric booklet. Mastered by James Guthrie and Joel Plante at das boot.  

Primary lyricist on the new album is Gilmour’s long-term writing partner, Polly Samson, and it is co-produced by David Gilmour and Roxy Music’s Phil Manzanera. RATTLE THAT LOCK’s striking cover has been art directed by Dave Stansbie from The Creative Corporation under the Creative Directorship of Aubrey Powell from Hipgnosis.

The lead track ‘Rattle That Lock’ begins with the four notes, created by Michaël Boumendil, which precede announcements at French SNCF railway stations which Gilmour recorded on his iPhone at Aix-en-Provence station.  Samson’s lyrics are inspired by Book II of John Milton’s Paradise Lost, which is also featured in her recent acclaimed novel, The Kindness.  The single also features The Liberty Choir and singers Mica Paris and Louise Marshall.


5 A.M.
Rattle That Lock
Faces of Stone
A Boat Lies Waiting
Dancing Right In Front of Me
In Any Tongue
The Girl In The Yellow Dress
And Then...