The Haunted

Strength In Numbers (Vinyl)

Strength In Numbers (Vinyl)

by The Haunted

“Strength In Numbers” is the all-important follow-up to “Exit Wounds” from 2014, which saw the entrance of Ola Englund (guitars), and the return of Marco Aro (vocals) and Adrian Erlandsson after their respective 10 and 14 year absences from The Haunted’s line-up. Based on the strength of “Exit Wounds”, which was considered a fine return to form by critics and followers, the band took their time in creating a worthy successor.
“Strength In Numbers” was produced by Russ Russell (Napalm Death, Dimmu Borgir, The Exploited, etc.) which created a different vibe compared to The Haunted's previous work with Tue Madsen. Because we live in the digital age and the band members aren't able to gather regularly, a lot of the song arrangements for “Strength In Numbers” were completed before the band entered the studio; Russell was responsible for getting the best out of what they had to offer. Having an outsider's view and a fresh set of ears, he decided where to push the new songs and where things should be held back, resulting in the aggressive sound The Haunted wanted to achieve this time out.
“Strength In Numbers” continues The Haunted's legacy of remaining diverse without diluting the sound that seeded a loyal fanbase two decades and will surely also impress new listeners not only by its compositional class and performance prowess, but also by its relentless heaviness, the displayed atmospheric intensity and the material’s consequential imminent impact.

Leprous is a visionary band that defies genre labelling, not just in the style, but also in their attitude.  After releasing “Tall Poppy Syndrome” (2009), “Bilateral” (2011) and “Coal” (2013); these artists released their monster album “The Congregation” (2015) that spurred high acclaim and an enormous world tour.  Leprous, however, is not a band that takes success resting on their hind quarters, as they believe in pushing boundaries, learning from their mistakes, and following their instincts.  They are prepared to release their new album “Malina” this summer, and it is set to offer a left hook to the progressive world.

“Malina” is set to be a change in direction in more ways than one.  Right away, you can see that the cover art is more colorful and more mysterious than they’ve ever had in the past.  The album itself has been nothing short of a labor of love. The album took 4 times as many days in the studio to record as past albums, as the band was certain that the sound they wanted would be found in the recording studio, and not in a digital mask that would be applied during the mixing stage. 

With this concept in mind, David Castillo of Ghostward Studios was brought in to produce and record the album to meet the band’s demands for a specific sound and the then went with Jens Bogren again to mix the album.  The band was however adamant about what this album needed to be, “We wanted it to sound like it sounded. We did not want to "digitalise" the sound.”
The members of Leprous have poured their blood, sweat, and tears into the process of creating “Malina”.  They’ve challenged themselves to mature and grow in ways they themselves did not expect.  It’s because of these amazing qualities that the band is set to conquer the music scene once again in 2017.  Combining a new album with a fresh sound with their upcoming, biggest headline tour yet Leprous is ready to bring their passion and badass energy to fans and new audiences worldwide this year.

Side A (18:09):
1. Fill The Darkness With Black (01:24)
2. Brute Force (02:48)
 3. Spark (04:21)
4. Preachers Of Death (04:55)
 5. Strength In Numbers (04:38)

Side B (19:56):
 6. Tighten The Noose (03:00)
7. This Is The End (03:29)
8. The Fall (04:32)
9. Means To An End (04:25)
10. Monuments (04:28)