Jonas Kaufmann

An Italian Night - Live From The Waldbuhne Berlin (DVD)
Two years after the release of his highly successful album Dolce Vita, Jonas Kaufmann reaffirmed his love affair with Italian music this summer with a special concert at the Waldbühne – Berlin’s renowned stage-beneath-the-stars. In what can be seen as a wondrous zenith of his dedication to Italy and her music, the concert has become one of this year’s biggest classical music events. Sony Classical is proud to announce the release of the magical concert on DVD.   


“An Italian Night – Live from the Waldbühne Berlin” features popular songs and canzone as well as passionate Italian opera arias and duets from Cavalleria rusticana, where Georgian mezzo-soprano Anita Rachvelishvili joined Jonas as a charming guest-artist and duet partner. Both were supported by Jochen Rieder conducting the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin.


Those who missed the amazing atmosphere of the concert at the 20,000-seater Waldbühne can now experience the attractive mix of opera, songs and italianità that brought the audience to their feet and resulted in seven incredible encores including “Parla più piano” (The Godfather theme), “Volare” in special duet form and the mighty “Nessun dorma” from Puccini’s opera Turandot. The evening’s delights also included Ponchielli’s “Cielo e mar” from his opera La Gioconda, as well as the popular songs “Torna a Surriento”, “Non ti scordar di me”, a unique solo rendition of Lucio Dalla’s “Caruso” by Anita Rachvelishvili, and a stirring duet of “Il canto” between Jonas and Anita.


The full 110-minute concert recording filmed by ZDF & 3sat in collaboration with concert promoter Alegria and Semmel Concerts.



1. Verdi – I Vespri Sciciliani: Sinfonia

2. Ponchielli - La Gioconda, Atto II: Cielo e mar

3. Mascagni - Cavalleria rusticana: Voi lo sapete, o mamma

4. Mascagni - Cavalleria rusticana: Tu qui, Santuzza?

5. Mascagni - Cavalleria rusticana: Intermezzo sinfonico

6. Mascagni - Cavalleria rusticana: Mamma, quel vino è generoso

7. De Curtis - Ti voglio tanto bene

8. D'Anzi - Voglio vivere così

9. Leoncavallo - Mattinata

10. Rota - The Legend of the Glass Mountain (From "The Glass Mountain")

11. De Crescenzo - Rondine al nido

12. Dalla - Caruso

13. Bixio - Parlami d'amore, Mariù

14. Rota - La passerella di addio (From "Otto e mezzo")

15. De Curtis - Torna a Surriento

16. Musumarra - Il canto

17. De Curtis - Non ti scordar di me

18. Rota - Parla più piano (Theme from "The Godfather")

19. Ferilli - Un amore così grande

20. Gastaldon - Musica proibita

21. Tagliaferri, Valente - Passione

22. Cardillo - Catarì, Catarì (Core 'ngrato)

23. Modugno - Volare

24. Puccini - Turandot, Atto III: Nessun Dorma

RUNNING TIME – 1:54:10


L'Opera (2LP)

Jonas Kaufmann L'Opera (2LP)


L'Opera (2LP)

by Jonas Kaufmann

Jonas Kaufmann pays homage to a magnificent era of opera that defined musical splendor and elegance, in his new album of 19th-century French opera arias and duets. His selection of music for tenor spans this momentous period, starting with “Rachel, quand du Seigneur” from Halévy’s La Juive (1835), through two of Bizet’s greatest works, “La fleur que tu m’avais jetée” from Carmen (1875) and “Au fond du temple saint” from Les Pêcheurs de perles (1863), by way of Gounod’s “Ah! lève-toi, soleil!” from Roméo et Juliette (1867) and ending with the latest aria “Pourquoi me réveiller” from Massenet’s masterpiece Werther (1892). Plus many more along the way.


“The French operatic repertory is very close to my heart,” says Kaufmann. “This fascinating music reflects a unique period in European culture. I didn’t want to choose only highlights for this album but also works and roles that have been key experiences for me. Wilhelm Meister in Mignon, for example, was my first major French role – I sang it in Toulouse in 2001. Carmen and Werther helped to open doors for me. The fact that I sang my first Werther at the Paris Opéra of all places, as a German surrounded by a French ensemble, was undoubtedly rather risky, but I had some excellent guides to help me: répétiteurs, colleagues, conductors and, not least, the recordings of the legendary French tenor Georges Thill.”


What can be heard on Jonas Kaufmann’s new album is the musical heritage of a time when Paris, newly created by Georges Eugène Haussmann, became the center of the modern world in the 19th century. At that time the opera houses of Paris were the places to “see and be seen”. Their large, luxurious foyers offered fabulous opportunities for the public to gather and socialize. Their opera productions presented the audience with unheard-of exotic locations and staged spectacles beyond compare – the premiere of Halévy’s La Juive reportedly involved more than a dozen horses on stage!  At that time, the Parisian opera also fostered a creative exchange between German and French cultures. German composers such as Meyerbeer and Offenbach flocked to Paris and developed their international careers from there. Likewise, French composers were deeply influenced by German literary works – basing operas such as Massenet’s Werther and Berlioz’s La Damnation de Faust on “best-sellers”; Kaufmann has selected scenes from both works for his new album. Often new operas would travel to German opera houses and beyond, after a successful run at the Paris Opéra.


This Franco-German connection is particularly appealing for Kaufmann: “Offenbach’s Hoffmann is, I think, an ideal symbiosis between German profundity and French imagination. And Jules Massenet captured the psychological depths of Goethe’s Werther with so many shades and hues that it’s beyond reproach. So in this respect I feel fully at home in it.”


This recording was made with Kaufmann’s award-winning “hometown” orchestra The Bavarian State Orchestra based in Munich, with whom he performs year-round, conducted by Bertrand de Billy who is an expert in the selected repertoire. Baritone Ludovic Tézier is Kaufmann’s duet partner in “Au fond du temple saint” from Bizet’s Les Pêcheurs de perles, and soprano Sonya Yoncheva joins Kaufmann for two scenes from Massenet’s Manon.


Jonas recently was in Sydney performing with Opera Australia in Wagner’s Parsifal at the Sydney Opera House.


LP1 Side 1

1. GOUNOD · ROMÉO ET JULIETTE - “L’amour! … Ah! lève-toi, soleil!”

2 JULES MASSENET · WERTHER - “Traduire… Ah! bien souvent … Pourquoi me réveiller, ô souffle du printemps?”

3 AMBROISE THOMAS · MIGNON - “Elle ne croyait pas, dans sa candeur naïve”

4 GEORGES BIZET · CARMEN - “Je le veux! Carmen, tu m’entendras! … La fleur que tu m’avais jetée”


LP1 Side B

1 GEORGES BIZET · LES PÊCHEURS DE PERLES - “C’est toi, toi qu’enfin je revois! … Au fond du temple saint”

2 ÉDOUARD LALO · LE ROI D’YS - “Puisqu’on ne peut fléchir … Vainement, ma bien-aimée”

3 JACQUES OFFENBACH · LES CONTES D’HOFFMANN - “Ô Dieu, de quelle ivresse”

4 GIACOMO MEYERBEER · L’AFRICAINE - “Pays merveilleux! … Ô paradis”


LP 2 Side A

1 JULES MASSENET · MANON - “Enfin, Manon, nous voilà seuls ensemble! … En fermant les yeux, je vois là-bas”

2 JULES MASSENET · MANON - “Toi! Vous! … N’est-ce plus ma main que cette main presse”

3 JULES MASSENET · LE CID - “Ah! tout est bien fini! … Ô souverain, ô juge, ô père”


LP 2 Side B

1 FROMENTAL HALÉVY · LA JUIVE - “Rachel, quand du Seigneur”

2 HECTOR BERLIOZ · LA DAMNATION DE FAUST - “Merci, doux crépuscule!”

3 HECTOR BERLIOZ · LES TROYENS - “Inutiles regrets! Je dois quitter Carthage!”