Roger Waters announces his first rock album in 25 years

Roger Waters, the creative power and song writing force behind Pink Floyd, announces his first rock album in 25 years, IS THIS THE LIFE WE REALLY WANT? The album is available for pre order today and will be released globally on Friday June 2nd on Columbia Records and Sony Music Entertainment Australia.

Additionally, Waters will launch his North American Us + Them Tour in Kansas City, MO on Friday May 26th. The Us + Them Tour runs through October 28th, concluding in Vancouver, BC. See full list of dates below.

Roger Waters' last studio album, 1992's AMUSED TO DEATH, was a prescient study of popular culture, exploring the power of television in the era of the First Gulf War. The long-awaited follow-up, 2017’s IS THIS THE LIFE WE REALLY WANT? is an unflinching commentary on the modern world and uncertain times. Waters’ forthcoming LP serves as a natural successor to classic Pink Floyd albums such as ANIMALS and THE WALL.

Produced and mixed by Nigel Godrich (Radiohead, Paul McCartney, Beck, U2, "From the Basement" web television series), IS THIS THE LIFE WE REALLY WANT? Includes 12 new Roger Waters musical compositions and studio performances.

The physical album release includes a double 180-gram vinyl LP in a gatefold jacket and a 4-panel soft pack CD. All album formats, physical and digital, are available for pre-order starting April 21st.

The musicians on IS THIS THE LIFE WE REALLY WANT? are: Roger Waters (vocals, acoustic, bass), Nigel Godrich (arrangement, sound collages, keyboards, guitar), Gus Seyffert (bass, guitar, keyboards), Jonathan Wilson (guitar, keyboards), Joey Waronker (drums), Roger Manning (keyboards), Lee Pardini (keyboards), and Lucius (vocals) with Jessica Wolfe and Holly Proctor.

Tracks on IS THIS THE LIFE WE REALLY WANT? include: ‘When We Were Young’, ‘Déjà vu’, ‘The Last Refugee’, ‘Picture That’, ‘Broken Bones’, ‘The Life We Really Want’, ‘A Bird In A Gale’, ‘The Most Beautiful Girl’, ‘Smell the Roses’, ‘Wait For Her’, ‘Oceans Apart’, and ‘Part of Me Died’. The lyrics for ‘Wait for Her’ were written by Roger Waters and inspired by an English translation by an unknown author of “Lesson from the Kama Sutra (Wait for Her)” by Mahmoud Darwish 



1. When We Were Young
2. Deja Vu
3. The Last Refugee
4. Picture That
5. Broken Bones
6. Is This The Life We Really Want?
7. Bird In A Gale
8. The Most Beautiful Girl
9. Smell The Roses
10. Wait For Her
11. Oceans Apart
12. Part Of Me Died