Pink Floyd: A Momentary Lapse Of Reason turns 30

A Momentary Lapse Of Reason was Pink Floyd’s thirteenth studio album. Released in 1987, it was the first full-length album not to feature founding member and songwriter Roger Waters, following his departure after the release of The Final Cut in 1983. 

Despite controversy and conflict between Waters’ protesting the use of the Pink Floyd name, The ‘A Momentary Lapse Tour’ was an overwhelming success, beating box office records in every booked U.S. venue, shortly followed by tours of Australia, Europe and Japan, with almost every venue sold out.

 A Momentary Lapse Of Reason spawned three singles; ‘Learning To Fly’, ‘On The Turning Away’ and ‘One Slip’. Upon release, it outsold The Final Cut, and was certified quadruple platinum in the United States, and Silver and Gold in the UK in 1987.

 Did you know: A Momentary Lapse of Reason was also the first Pink Floyd album since 1977’s Animals to feature artwork by Storm Thorgerson, who is to credit for many of the band’s album artwork over their career. 

A Momentary Lapse Of Reason Vinyl from The Music Vault
View all Pink Floyd on The Music Vault